Former Fellows

The LBI fellows so far, in alphabetical order, with their research projects

  • Alho, Tommi, M.A. (06/2017): Performing and Teaching Latin in the Restauration Grammar School (talho@abo.fi)
  • Andersson, Daniel, Dr. (09/2017–2/2017): The Reception of Horace in 16th Century France
  • Arbo, Desiree, PhD (04/2018–07/2018): Plato and the Guarani: A Translation of José Manuel Peramás’ De administratione guaranica (1793) (darbo86@gmail.com)
  • Bicak, Ivana, PhD (02/2016-04/2016): An Annotated Edition of Late Seventeenth- and Early Eighteenth-century Anglo-Latin Verse (current affiliation: Durham University, ivana.bicak@durham.ac.uk)
  • Brammal, Sheldon, PhD (10/2013–03/2014): A Study of Lawrence Humphrey’s Theory of Translation in the lnterpretatio linguarum (Basel, 1559)  (current affiliation: University of Oxford)
  • Budey, Oliver (10/2019–05/2020): Die orationes academicae von Carlo Sigonio  (current affiliation: Universität Freiburg, O.Budey@gmx.de)
  • Caputo, Gianpaolo, M.A. (12/2012–01/2013): Amando Maria, lodando Leopoldo: religione, potere e poetica nei Piscatoria di N. P. Giannettasio
  • Cascio, Giovanni, PhD (02/2015–07/2015): Benvenuto da Imola e il Bucolicum carmen del Petrarca (casciogiovanni@gmail.com)
  • Cattaneo, Gianmario, PhD (10/2018–12/2018): Nicolaus Scutellius and the reception of Plato in the sixteenth century (gianmario_cattaneo@libero.it)
  • Dänzer, Caroline (geborene Weber), M.A. (08/2015–01/2016): Die Chorkonzeption von Jakob Balde in der Tragödie (caroline.daenzer@web.de)
  • Debertol, Markus, MMag. (02/2017–03/2017): Stereotypen am Hof Kaiser Maximilians I. (markus.debertol@student.uibk.ac.at)
  • Della Schiava, Fabio, PhD (06/2020–09/2020): Critical Edition of Maffeo Vegio’s De rebus antiquis memorabilibus basilicae S. Petri Romae (fabio.dellaschiava@kuleuven.be)
  • Di Dio, Rocco, PhD (02/2017–05/2017): Marsilio Ficino and Renaissance Doctrine of Beauty and Love. Preparatory Notes for the De Amore (rocco.didio@hotmail.it)
  • Dormandy, Michael, BA (07/2013–08/2013): Words of Encouragement: Bartholomaeus Holzhauser’s Epistola Fundamentalis Considered and Compared to Contemporary British, Protestant Exhortatory Literature (currently studying Theology at Wycliffe Hall, University of Oxford)
  • East, Katherine, PhD (03/2014–05/2014): The Function of the Ciceronian Tradition in John Toland’s Pantheisticon (1720)
  • Favaro, Maiko, PhD (08/2013–12/2013): On Ovid’s Reception in the Renaissance: The Metamorphoses by Federico Frangipane (current affiliation: Freie Universität Berlin)
  • Forgács, Robert, PhD (05/2013–07/2013): The Music of the Benedictine and Jesuit Schuldramen in 18th Century Austria and Germany: Mozart, His Predecessors and Contemporaries  (current affiliation: University of Sydney, robert@forgacs.id.au)
  • Galli, Maria Teresa, PhD (11/2014–04/2015): I Centones ex Virgilio di Lelio Capilupi (1555): un caso neolatino di scomposizione e ricomposizione di Virgilio (celsius.ap@hotmail.com)
  • Goda, Krizstina, Mag. (04/2017–05/2017): Artes et Scientiae (krisztina.goda@edu.uni-graz.at)
  • Gordeziani, Lika, MA (01/2018–02/2018): Die Adagia des Erasmus von Rotterdam als Fürstenspiegel (likagordeziani@yahoo.fr)
  • Germain, Gerard González, PhD (10/2014–01/2015): The reception of Classics in the Florentine Chancery: Agostino Vespucci, Renaissance Reader and Neo-Latin Writer (current affiliation: University of Alcalá, gerardggermain@gmail.com)
  • Hadley, Patrick, M.A. (09/2012–02/2013): Nicodemus Frischlin’s Approach to the Byzantine Triad of Aristophanes (current affiliation: University of Utah, ptsuperscript@gmail.com)
  • Houghton, Luke, PhD (02/2014–05/2014): The Neo-Latin “nativity eclogue”  (current affiliation: University of Reading)
  • Huth, Manuel (07/2020–09/2020): Die naturkundlichen Schriften des Humanisten Joachim Camerarius (1500–1574) (manuel.huth@mailbox.org)
  • Iurlaro, Francesca, PhD (10/2018–12/2018): Lessons from shepherds – Alberico Gentili’s Lectionis Virgilianae Variae Liber ad Robertum filium (1603) (current affiliation: Università degli Studi di Milano, Francesca.Iurlaro@eui.eu)
  • Kaiser, Ronny, M.A. (11/2016–01/2017): Das Geschichtsbild in der Pomerania Johannes Bugenhagens (current affiliation: FU Berlin, ronny.kaiser@staff.hu-berlin.de)
  • Laizans, Martins (01/2020–08/2020): The Didactic Poetry of Basilius Plinius (martins.laizans@lu.lv)
  • Lucioli, Francesco, PhD (01/2016–06/2016): Theory of Theatre in Bernardino Stefonio (current affiliation: University College Dublin, francesco.lucioli@ucd.ie)
  • Malavesi, Massimiliano, PhD (04/2017–06/2017): Il Momus di Famiano Strada (ma.malavasi@gmail.com)
  • Marsico, Clementina, PhD (07/2014–08/2014): On Virgil's Reception in the Renaissance: The Elegantie by Lorenzo Valla  (current affiliation: Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for NeoLatin Studies, clementina.marsico@neolatin.lbg.ac.at)
  • McOmish, David, PhD (06/2016–07/2016): The Latin Literary Context of the Scientific Revolution in Scotland (David.McOmish@glasgow.ac.uk)
  • Meyer, Jonathan, BA/MAR (10/2013–01/2014): The Last Latin Novels from the Habsburg Empire: Texts and Contexts (current affiliation: Johns Hopkins University, jmeyer47@jhu.edu)
  • Miguel Franco, Ruth, PhD (03/2018): Edition of the First Book of Valla’s Elegantie (ruth.miguel@uib.es)
  • Montepaone, Olivia, M.A. (08/2014–09/2014): The reception of Seneca’s Apocolocyntosis in Celio Secondo Curione’s Pasquillus extativus (1544)  (current affiliation: Università degli Studi di Milano, olivia.montepaone@unimi.it)
  • Nicholas, Lucy, PhD (05–08/2019): Looking at the Sixteenth-Century through a Latin lens. The prose and verse of Walter Haddon (lucy.nicholas@kcl.ac.uk)
  • Oba, Haruka (08/2015–09/2015): Die Wahrnehmung Japans im Heiligen Römischen reich und der Eidgenossenschaft in der Frühen Neuzeit (haruka0508@hotmail.com)
  • Orbán, Áron, M.A. (06/2016–08/2016): Solar-Symbolismus und poetische Selbstrepräsentation in der Dichtung des Konrad Celtis und seiner Sodalen (orbanaron@gmail.com)
  • Patterson, Tyler, M.A. (072019–08/2019): Poggio Bracciolini’s De Varietate Fortunae I. A New All-Latin Edition and Commentary for Intermediate Students (current affiliation: University of Southern California, tnpatter@usc.edu)
  • Petneházi, Gábor, PhD (04/2017–07/2017): Politics and Historiography in Hungary in the 16th Century (petnehazi_gabor@yahoo.it)
  • Piccone, Carla, PhD (05/2015–07/2015): Revision der kritischen Edition der Felsinais Vidas (carla.piccone@gmail.com)
  • Rossetti, Federica, PhD (10/2017–03/2018): The Reception of Persius and Seneca in the Sixteenth Century (feder.rossetti@gmail.com)
  • Rothfuß, Theresa, Dr. (07/2020–08/20): Übersetzung der Bernatum urbis delineatio des Thomas Schöpf (Theresa.Rothfuss@gymnasium-ottobrunn.de)
  • Ryczkowski, Patryk, MMag (11/2018–05/2019): Susanna im Bade – Susanna im Gedicht: Zur literarischen Technik der biblischen Nacherzählung in der Paraphrasis historiae de Susanna (current affiliation: patryk.ryczkowski@gmail.com)
  • Sandis, Elizabeth, MPhil (07/2014–09/2014): On the relationship between grammar schools and university drama in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century England (current affiliation: Merton College, University of Oxford, E.Sandis@bham.ac.uk)
  • Schirg, Bernhard, Dr. (08/2017–09/2017): Die lateinischen Dialoge des Mario Equicola (current affiliation: Universität Erfurt, bernhard.schirg@gmx.de)
  • Sernicola, Roberto, M.A. (09/2014–11/2014): Epistola apologetica ad Quintum Marium Corradum (1567)
  • Shore, Paul, PhD (08/2016–09/2016): Baroque Jesuits and the Qur’an: Secrets, Surprises, and Scripture (current affiliation: University of Regina, shore.slu@gmail.com)
  • Silvano, Luigi, PhD (11/2016–01/2017): Witnessing the Fall of Constantinople. Ubertino Puscolo and Isidore of Kiew (current affiliation: Sapienza Università di Roma, luigi.silvano@unito.it
  • Stepanic, Gorana, PhD (07/2015–07/2015): Latin Pattern Poetry in the 17th and 18th Century Habsburg Lands (gstepanic@yahoo.com)
  • Tardelli, Claudia, PhD (04/2018–06/2018): Critical edition of Breve Compendium on Dante’s Commedia (c.tardelliterry@gmail.com)
  • Toribio, Pablo, PhD (03/2016–06/2016): Martin Seidels Origo et fundamenta religionis Christianae (1580) (pablo.toribio@cchs.csic.es)
  • Vorobyev, Grigory, PhD (05/2018–09/2018): Das frühneuzeitliche Nachleben der von Theodor Gaza eingeführten Tiernamen (gvorobyev@hse.ru)
  • Xinyue, Bobby, PhD (08/2017): Redesigning Time: the politics of Renaissance poetic calendars (b.xinyue@warwick.ac.uk)